History of Terinallum
In 1846, the Clyde Company, large pastoralists, took possession of Terinallum. It was then 52,000 acres. Over the years, the property has been owned by many families: the Cummings, the Baileys, the Wynnes, Lindsay Nicholas and his famous concert pianist wife, Hephzibah Menuhin, the McEacherans, the Barr-Smiths and currently Terinallum is owned by the McIntosh family, who purchased the property in 1989. By then the property had been reduced to 2,400 hectares.
The original bluestone homestead was built in 1846 by the Clyde Company. There is a magnificent painting by “Buvelot” in 1853 which, with some artistic license, depicts the location of the original buildings, including the bluestone swimming pool. This painting is owned by the State Library of Victoria.
The iconic woolshed was built in 1850 when the property was owned by the Clyde Company, which noted pastoralist George Russell was a partner in. The Clyde Company sold Terinallum in 1857 to John Cumming Jr. At the peak of his ownership during 1880s it is thought to have carried more than 50,000 sheep.
Lindsay Nicholas bought Terinallum in the 1930s. His wife, Hephzibah Menuhin, conducted music lessons in the homestead and she and Lindsay entertained many famous people.
Over the decades, Terinallum has changed dramatically. At one stage it was said that over 100 people lived on the property but today there are four families. Although it has been largely a wool growing property, there have been an Angus stud, a Hereford stud, a dairy, a piggery and some cropping. Today the predominant focus is on prime spring lambs.